Introducing: Marci Curtis

Standard

Hi! I’m the author of THE ONE THING, my YA contemporary debut with Disney-Hyperion, coming in 2015. I’d like to say that I’ve always known I’d become a writer. But the truth is, I sort of toppled into writing when my main character, Maggie, weaseled her way into my brain and refused to leave. That said, I began writing THE ONE THING because I wanted to get Maggie’s story out of my head. (By “get Maggie’s story out of my head” I mean scratching illegible words onto lined paper, napkins, grocery store receipts, and the backs of envelopes. I was rather organized.) Several months later, I leafed through my high-tech notes and quietly closet-wrote THE ONE THING. I was surprised to find that everything actually gelled into something I truly loved and wanted to share. As of yet, I don’t have an official blurb for the story, but here’s my Publisher’s Marketplace announcement:

Marci Curtis’s debut THE ONE THING, about a blind juvenile delinquent whose life falls apart when she uncovers the truth about the precocious young boy she’s grown to love, to Emily Meehan at Disney-Hyperion, with Laura Schreiber editing, at auction, by Kathleen Rushall at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (World English).

I’m not going to lie, writing this story was challenging. I couldn’t just slap on a blindfold, fumble around for a few hours, and understand what the visually impaired go through on a daily basis. It took a lot of research, brainstorming, and imagery to keep everything in check—and to keep Maggie’s visual impairment from becoming the focus of the novel. Because THE ONE THING is not a story about being blind. It’s a story about resolve, about tenacity, about digging deeper than you ever thought possible to stand up to what life hands you. And above all, it’s about discovering that adversity doesn’t change you and it doesn’t define you—it reveals you.

In my other life, I work in radiology as a mammographer/MRI technologist. Translation: I squash squash SQUASH breasts and cram people into small, noisy tubes. The plus side? Severely uncomfortable people are happy to show you…erm…true character. And seeing real, honest-to-goodness character comes in rather handy when writing novels. Given that most of my adult life has been spent in a lab coat, I feel oddly as though I’ve tumbled out of a third-story hospital window to arrive where I am today—blinky-eyed and awestruck and thrilled, standing alongside this talented group of Fearless Fifteeners.

Marci CurtisMarci Curtis grew up in Northern California, where she went to college, met an amazing guy in a military uniform, and then proceeded to follow him around the United States until he married her. Two college-aged kids and one dachshund later, she lives in Maryland, where she laughs too loudly and eats peanut butter off spoons. Her YA contemporary debut, THE ONE THING, comes out in 2015 via Disney-Hyperion. Learn more about her at Marcilyncurtis.com.
Leave a Reply

