Introducing Patrick Samphire

Standard

Today we’re going to introduce you to Patrick Samphire, whose thrilling middle grade adventure, SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB, is due to be published in August 2015 by Christy Ottaviano Books / Henry Holt / Macmillan. With no further ado:

Well, hello. You seem familiar.

Why, thank you. You may have seen me on television. Although, to be honest, that’s unlikely, as I don’t think I’ve ever actually been on television.

More likely it’s because, originally, my incredibly awesome, impossible-to-miss, thrilling, hilarious novel, SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB, was going to be published in 2014, and then it wasn’t, and now it’s going to come out in 2015 (probably August 18th, but, you know…) Anyway, so, and all that, I introduced myself last year, and now I’m doing it again. Hello.

So what’s changed since then?

Well, for one thing, SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB is now shorter, sleeker, and faster (rather like me, except for the shorter, sleeker, and faster parts), and my super-brave hero is now twelve years old instead of fourteen.

Are you going to tell us about the book?

Yes I am. Just here. Look:

Secrets of the Dragon Tomb

Not actually the book cover…

Mars in 1816 is a world of high Society, deadly danger, and strange clockwork machines. Pterodactyls glide through the sky, automatic servants hand out sandwiches at elegant garden parties, and in the north, the great dragon tombs hide marvels of Ancient Martian technology.

Twelve-year-old Edward Sullivan has always dreamed of becoming a spy like the ones he reads about in his favorite magazine, Thrilling Martian Tales. Instead, he spends his days keeping his eccentric family from complete disaster … that is, until the villainous archaeologist, Sir Titus Dane, kidnaps Edward’s parents as part of a scheme to loot an undiscovered dragon tomb.

Edward sets off in pursuit across the Martian wilderness. With him are his brilliant and outrageous little sister, Putty, his impossibly starchy older sister, Olivia, and his secretive cousin, Freddie. Together they must evade Sir Titus’s minions, battle mechanical nasties, and escape deadly Martian hunting machines. If they can’t, they’ll never uncover the secrets of the dragon tomb and rescue Edward’s family.

SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB is an exciting, funny middle grade adventure full of fantastic inventions, terrible danger, exotic creatures, and larger-than-life characters.

You can add SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB on goodreads. I’ll wait.

That picture up there? That’s not the cover. I couldn’t stand not having a cover yet, so I did this instead.

That book sounds utterly awesome. Can I pre-order it?

As it happens, you can! Here’s a few places:

Book Depository | Books-a-Million | Powell’s Books

It’s also listed on Indiebound, but whether you can preorder it there yet will depend on your local indie bookstore.

Do you have a photo of you with a dinosaur?

Of course! Who doesn’t?

In which the author attempts suicide by T. Rex.

Somehow, I don’t think that fence is going to be enough…

Want to tell us about yourself?

Sure. Why not?

I’ve been a teacher, physicist, editor, web designer, explorer, and consultant idler. I’ve lived in Africa, South America, Europe, the U.K., and on several small asteroids part way between Mars and Jupiter. You can often find me on twitter at @patricksamphire.

I’m married to another writer, Stephanie Burgis, who also writes middle grade novels. Her first book, Kat, Incorrigible, was published in 2011. She has two other full length novels out, Renegade Magic and Stolen magic, as well as a novella in the same series, Courting Magic, which has just been published. Because I am multi-talented (as well as painfully modest) I designed the cover for the novella.

When I’m not writing, I design author websites and ebook covers.

Sometimes I like to make things up for my biography. Then I can’t remember what was true and what wasn’t. It’s all a bit confusing, really.

Last chance to say something interesting.

As well as writing middle grade novels, I also write fantasy short stories for teenagers and adults. You can find them on my website. Some of them are available as ebooks, and some are free online.

I’m so excited that I’m going to get the chance to share SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB with you in 2015. I loved writing this book, and I really hope you enjoy it!

The sequel to SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB, which may or may not end up being called THE EMPEROR OF MARS, will come out in 2016.

Photo of Patrick SamphireDinosaur hunter. Accidental archeologist. Armchair adventurer. Some of these things may not be true about Patrick Samphire. What is true is that Patrick is the author of the extremely thrilling and sometimes funny middle grade adventure, SECRETS OF THE DRAGON TOMB (Christy Ottaviano Books / Henry Holt / Macmillan), coming your way in August 2015. He lives in Wales, U.K., where it occasionally doesn’t rain.
Leave a Reply

